Interview goof ups

Hi,

I have been working as a software professional (I don't know if I can call myself a professional). I have around 5 yrs of IT experience. Now I am not in any high profile job as I am playing a kind of a support role. I am pretty ok at open source technologies. I know that I can do a much better job for my abilities. I have made a good name in this project but its not at all challenging. I have been thinking to change my job to go for a better pay and better profile.

But something kills me. What is it?????

The thought of an "INTERVIEW". I have been postponing interviews just because I am not confident enough. I feel that I will goof up as I have done that in the past.

The day of the interview is like a death experience. That morning I would feel very nervous and there are butterflies flying inside my belly.

Where do I really goof up?

When the interviewer asks me "tell me about yourself and your projects"

I am ok in this. But sometimes I get nervous in this as well. I recently goofed up this on telephonic interview.

Techincal questions:

I would prepare myself 1 week in advance and finally when I am presented a question either I forget the answer or I am unable to put it in the right words. This really pulls me down.

Eg. What is EJB? (Enterprise Java beans). I would have read the concepts and definition before the interview. Finally when I go there I don't remember what to say or I completely mess up what I am supposed to say.

Overall my communication during an interview is bad. I can communicate well otherwise. Its for these reasons (Fear, nervousness, lack of knowledge and lack to communication) I am not taking up more interviews and fool myself and others that the job I am doing currently is a great job when it is actually not.