Desiring to build a "social circle" at work

Double J

Hey everyone,

Well, the title of the thread is pretty self-explanatory.

I'm the type of guy that could care less about knowing EVERYONE from a certain workplace, college program, athletic team I'm involved in, etc. But, as often is the case in high school and college, I wish to have my own little social group (or clique) at work (as I have away from school, which make up a group of closest high school friends), but right now it doesn't seem feasible.

One was certainly in the works when I started working in the company (I'm a part-time intern, by the way, still in college). The man who hired me and the young woman who trained me helped me fit right in when I started back in late January, as we worked together for the same client team.

Unfortunately, this was short-lived. My ex-supervisor resigned in the summer, and the woman who trained me was moved to another client team. That left me, literally, by myself. I have remained in the same client team as an intern, as did another young woman who's been working on this account for years, but with whom I don't interact with that much (She's not as sociable/always busy). Another young woman was added to this team once the one who trained me left to the other account, but she, like the aforementioned woman, is in her own world. Roughly 3-4 weeks ago, a recent college grad started working there and also joined my team. She's roughly a year older than I am, and I've already begun to interact with her (she's one of those social butterfly/highly extroverted people).