Should Marketing (Research) major minor in Psychology?

Double J

Greetings all,

I have a question mainly directed at those involved in business/marketing/social science. I'm majoring in marketing (senior) and desire to work in research in the near future. I chose to get a minor in psychology to complement my major - something I feel would look very nicely on my resume.

The issue is that I'm not sure what I should do regarding the psychology courses that would be most appropriate to take. I'm currently taking Social Psychology (we did cover research methods briefly and have discussed persuasion in advertising) and Small Group Behavior (wanted to take a class to learn how to work better in groups.)

The university course catalog lists a class called "Consumer Psychology" that doesn't exist in actuality so I'm guessing it hasn't been updated in a while. The psychology dept. offers "Research Methods in Psychology," which I wanted to take, but the problem is that the dept does not deem this course a psychology course per se, and thereforeeee does not count it for psych minors. If I was to pick this course, I wouldn't get credit for it as far as my minor - it can only count as an additional elective for my major (these 3 electives would already be covered with the 5 classes I need to take for my minor).

Should I still take this research methods course regardless? What peeves me is that I'm going to end up paying hundreds for a class that won't even count for my minor, and so I'd be forced to still take this one and 5 others (6). The university also offers a class called "Personnel Psychology" and another called "Organizational Psychology" which I think are variations of the Management class business majors have to take (which I've already taken) and I don't feel they're what I'm looking for. They seem more like HR Psychology.