Is he shy or just not interested? :(

KristyK

Ok, so here's the deal. There is a guy at my work I am very interested in, but I am so very shy! We don't work together, just in the same BIG office building. I usually see him in the morning when I come in and maybe another 1 or 2 times during the day if I go downstaires. We have never spoken, but I know he has seen me around. We have made eye contact quite a few times, but I never have enough to courage to smile at him...he must think I'm a real b**ch. Anyways, I decided that if I want anything to happen, even just a friendship, then I'm going to need to do something (I'm also new at work, so friends would be nice)...so I decided I would say "goodmorning" when I came in in the morning...the only thing is, he will NOT look at me! I get the feeling he knows I'm there...but he refuses to look on purpose. I was thinking about it, and I find that when I'm interested in someone I tend to do that too...pretend they're not there, because I'm so shy...but I think he's doing it to give me the message that he's not interested. The other day I decided that he is for sure not interested, with all the body language he is giving me (if we do happen to make eye contact, he doesn't ever smile at me, or he won't look when he knows I'm there...he could be standing 5 feet from me and not look over), so I decided to stop trying to say hi and stuff. Then, the very next morning I went in late, and it was just me and him passing each other, and he looked at me and we made eye contact, and then he looked away and I didn't say anything, it was the perfect opportunity I had been waiting for, but since I had decided to give up, I didn't say anything! I have seen him hanging out with 2 other guys sometimes, and both of them have checked me out, smiled, and said "hi" on more than one occasion...so why doesn't the one I'm interested in do that?? I hate being so shy....I mean what's the worst that could happen? I know I would be hurt if he wasn't in