Getting back on track

arani

When I look back on past two or three years, most of the time I was in a bad mood and had low confidence and I have made some unreasonable decisions. For example, I rejected internship I was offered in a really good company because I didn't really like the position. Now I can't find any internship or job and can't stop thinking about it. I should have accepted it, I would gain some experience and meet some new people, gain connections.

I also struggled with my studies, I prolonged it and now I am 25 and still a student. Hopefully I am going to finish it in a few months, but I am worried it no one will want to hire me because I studied longer.

I also distanced myself from some people because I felt overwhelmed, and I missed some chances for meeting new people. Now I have only a few friends I see from time to time and they are busy with their lives.

I am in better mood now and I have more confidence now, but I feel I like I almost ruined my life and I am dealing with regret. I am thinking - was I crazy when I was acting like that?? How to stop thinking about past and get back on track? Thank you.

• Like 1

Forgive and forget, relive and regret.

The more you focus on these things and thinking you made mistakes and almost ruined your life, the more you will come to believe you have. The more you will regret your actions and feel bad about them. And the more you will beat yourself up over it and live in a constant cycle of negative thoughts that do nothing but make you fee worse. 

Forgive yourself and realize it's never to late to make things right or do better. Focus on the here and now and what you can be doing instead to make the present the best it can be.

Reframe these things in your mind: