How often should you talk to/see each other if you're dating?

goblin1

I'm currently 28 years old, male, and this is my first time dating anyone, ever. I've been seeing this guy, 35, since about February. He seemed really nice and easy to talk to, we really hit it off when we first started talking.

He also has an extremely busy job with long hours and a long commute and a schedule that changes on a whim, so making plans is often difficult. The most he can do is come over once every 3-5 weeks or so, and we have a fun time together, but once we're not together it's almost impossible to talk to him. Because of his job and that he doesn't want to be glued to his phone, he rarely ever texts or calls since he is too exhausted. He will sometimes send a two or three-word text every few days when he can manage it, and maybe an hour-long call every 2 or so weeks. Even on days he has off from work, he doesn't like to be near his phone or answer texts and is often busy running errands or helping family or just relaxing, so I usually get ignored the entire day when I offer to hang out or just call and talk.

I totally get that it can be demanding and unreasonable for people to insist whoever they're dating has to be ready to hang out or talk 24/7, but I am starting to wonder if maybe this is just not enough talking... I really don't feel like I can even form enough of an emotional connection with this person sometimes to justify continuing to see them. I'm wondering if I am being unreasonable now and this is a common/normal experience when dating

If both of you really like each other,  you'll have to be patient and wait every 3 - 5 weeks to see him and accept his phone limitations with you.