Looking for outside perspective

lovey97

To me personally an engagement is not official without a wedding date or at least a wedding month.  I don't think he wants to be married to you -whether it's your job situation or whatever. I'm sorry. No one should have to be convinced to be married.  I was a teacher from around 1988-91 after college.  I too dealt with extremely awful situations in school environments and with administrations. I wasn't surprised AT ALL because many public schools are like that and private schools often don't pay enough.  Teaching children is very rewarding (I loved it!) and extremely hard - kids are hard to deal with and if you have a class that never is that's some sort of unicorn.  Not everyone is cut out to teach children.  In the abstract it might have seemed like a good career choice but you are finding it's not a good fit for you. And that's ok.

The buying a house thing is a silly excuse IMO - we're married 15 years and we don't own a private home nor do we wish to -we can afford it.  That shows me he doesn't want to marry you.  It's a bunch of excuses. 

We got married 6.5 weeks after we got engaged -partly because we sped things up because we were expecting a child but also because - the point of being engaged was to have a period of time to plan the logistics of the wedding ceremony and wedding day.  Get a marriage license/his wedding band, etc.  Had we not been expecting my sense is we would have waited for practical job-related reasons for about 6 months.  

Did you pay rent/household expenses while you were a full time student? It's of course nice that you do more than your share of the household tasks but isn't that because you're not working and/or working part time? I work part time now and our son is almost 15 so more independent but because I am part time I do most of the housework/all of the shopping and I get up way early to get our son off to school.