Open Club  ·  99 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

This might sound like a strange question...

theREALdusman

Hey guys,

I just have a quick question about a situation I had with my car insurance provider...

I'm an uber driver, and so I recently had to make a claim with them after my car was damaged and needed repairing .

They told me they can cover the claim and have it repaired, however they also told me that they would have to cancel my polocy with them after they make the claim.

I asked them why they have to cancel and they told me its because im am Uber driver.

I was just wondering whether this sounds fishy or do they have grounds for cancelling my policy....i mean, what difference does it make whether im an uber driver or not?

Would they still be cancelling my policy if I worked as an retail employee (or whatever), and had to make a claim?

Do they have grounds to do this, or are they doing it out of spite because I had to make a claim with them ?

What do you guys think about this? And what should i do?

Thanks alot.

When I started my policy with them I wasn't an uber driver at the time

So you never told them?

My understanding is they could even refuse to cover this accident. Driving for Uber is a material change in your vehicle habits and doing so requires notifying your insurance so they can properly adjust (raise) your rates.

No they aren't being spiteful, they are being quite nice to you if they are willing to cover the damage. What you use the vehicle for and how matters in terms of risk for the insurance company. It's why they specifically ask when you are applying how you use your vehicle, average miles driven per year, etc. You aren't using your vehicle for pleasure or regular commuting, you are in effect turning it into commercial use. That's quite a difference in use/mileage/risk.