Dating drought after 30

Crystal Pepsi

I reentered online dating last fall and it's going nowhere. I first tried it five years ago, at age 25. Back then I averaged one date per month, so what gives? Does entering your 30s suddenly damage your appeal that much? I look the same, am trying to date women in my age group, and quite honestly am a much more mature person than I was at 25. I'm more confident with who I am, yet I can't muster a single date.

Despite living in a university town and being an artist and musician, I have no real social life. I almost considered going back to college last fall but backed out. Now I'm tempted to enroll just for the social aspect. Any advice?

Well, online dating is a bit of a fraud. The dating sites have been caught using chat bots in the chat rooms to make it look like more people are using the site, and never taking down inactive profiles, again to make them look more used than they are. Tinder and Bumble are probably the only ones that work, and when you get to older women, they've been burned by former spouses, boyfriends and dates and are suspicious of new guys. Your best bet is talking to as many women as possible and don't be afraid to ask if they have a single friend or if they know of someone who's single. If they can see you in person, you'll make a better impression than online.

Your dating pool reduces each decade. Think about it. Most people already met in their mid to late twenties are still in relationships or have kids.By 40 your dating poll will shrink even more as people may have been separated from their previous relationships or many of them that they want to do their own thing later in life. When you are in your 50s you become invisible.