Sad after break up, though I know it was right

rubys

My boyfriend and I had been together for three years. He'd moved into the home I own after a year, and we'd been living together for two years. He moved out the last of his stuff yesterday.

He is a classical musician - a talented one at that, playing regularly in orchestras with high profile names and performing in amazing venues all over the country, and more recently, the world.

I'm a designer. I'm based in a city I love, that's near my family and friends, and I work for an awesome design agency 9-5, Monday to Friday.

For the first two years of our relationship, we made it work. He was away quite a bit but I always felt appreciated. I felt like he wanted to come home to me. Over the last year, his career has kicked off. He's been offered 'trials' for three jobs, full time, based in cities all over the country. The trial process means that a few people will split up the work between them for say, a year, and at the end of that period, one of them will get the job. It's like glorified freelancing, but with the possibility of a job at the end.

Obviously, him being away a lot meant I had to spend a lot of time alone, or dash across the country on a Friday night to meet him somewhere for a weekend.

For me, this took it's toll. I'm in my late 20s and wanted to start thinking about settling down and starting a family. He feels he can't move to that stage of his life until he's got the 'full time job' These jobs are so competitive. He could be in this situation for 10 years!