I'm ready for committment but he isn't...

ConfusedMLE

Hi! I'm a newbie to this forum

To cut a long story short, my best friend and I met on an online dating site a number of years ago. We began a relationship which never really took off if I'm honest. We both had our own separate issues at the time which just got in the way and took up too much headspace, so I ended it for that reason after a few months.

We continued to be very close friends. Best friends. We have both been in other relationships since, all of which eventually broke down. Now we are both single again and for the last year we have been in a constant cycle of flirting... sometimes deciding to give our relationship another go, sometimes deciding to stick to a platonic friendship, even a friends with benefits arrangement. We can never settle for long on one or the other though and it's getting to the point where it's becoming incredibly frustrating. There is definitely chemistry there, I have strong feelings for him (which he knows about) and I'm sure they're reciprocated. He has said so, he's told me he loves me etc. But, again, he is going through a very tough time so I don't want to place any added pressure on him by bringing all of this up.

How should I deal with this... wait it out until his issues have resolved (should be another few months yet) or sit down and talk it out?

So have you actually tried dating again? Or is this all flirty words that are never followed through with actions?

How was your "friendship" while in other relationships?

When you say you are close friends, do you mean online interaction or actually meet up often?

At one point we did officially say we were giving our relationship another try but when he started going through some issues in his personal life (literally a few days later!) he decided he needed to focus more on that than his love life, which I totally understood.