When to call it quits...

XpandTheMind

So, I work in a call center for a well known company and feel I may getting picked on by a guy in the quality department.

QA reviews 3 calls a month, my manager reviews 3 as well. There's two guys on QA and one of them always gives me a huge amount of "check marks" on the call they review. It's almost always a high number which has made it impossible to bonus and could threaten to block me for future promotions.

Issue I have with this is they're more than likely choosing calls to review (not randomized). I have worked hard on doing better on calls, but every time I get this guy, he hits me with all these marks.

It's really discouraging and putting me in a bad spot because I do my absolute best and they keep giving me marks. They tell us to refer to policy, which is convoluted and hard to follow.

Lately, I've been considering pursuing what I got my degree in (fine art/filmmaking) and taking my chances doing something I want to do. Cause I'm getting the feeling I'm not wanted here for whatever reason. Was wondering what advice if any is there?

I used to work at a glorified call center myself. It is the worst kind of job. If you can, take your chances with a degree in fine art. I got my degree in a liberal art and do not regret it one bit. You can work part-time elsewhere in customer service, serving customers who appreciate you rather than cold calling people who will lash out at you.

As for this QA guy picking calls to review and it not being randomized, if that is really going on then you have a right to complain. The rules are that they are to be random calls they review, that's the whole point of it. The only time I've reviewed a specific call with my manager is if I asked to review it with him. QA reviews are supposed to be random.

What marks do you get from other QA's and your manager? Are they vastly different from the ones you get from this specific guy?