Open Club  ·  99 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

I need some advice for living with very noisy roommates

Slim Dog

So I know this is a relationship site, but I feel as though there's some good advice to be found here. Anyway, I'm a student at UCF and I'm in a shared suite with two other people. If any of you don't know what that is, here is a mark up of the floor plan: [ATTACH=CONFIG]10986[/ATTACH]

I live in bedroom A by myself, and I have two other roommates in room B. They are very nice people, but the one complaint I have is the noise issue. See, basically they like to play games on their computer, and almost always use a headset and talk to friends through Skype or whatnot. This can usually get really loud. I'm talking loud to the point where it overpowers the TV in my room (which I generally keep on a low volume). It's rather irritating because most of the things I hear are essentially mindless competitive video game ranting, eg. "F-this, F-that, This is BS,", loud shrieks and outbursts, etc. This usually goes on from whenever the one gets home from class to almost 1-2AM every day. I tend to lose respect for people when I hear them whine like 12 year olds over video games.

Attempting to resolve the issue: I nicely ask them to please turn their volume down when it gets late at night, and they generally do, however the next day it's back to the same thing. They will apologize occasionally if they're excessively loud late at night (I'm talking like extreme screaming, this is unexaggerated). Anyway, I dealt with this for about two weeks and I got fed up and messaged my RA (residence assistant). We as a group devised a plan for noise, bathroom times (which doesn't really bother any of us), etc.