Open Club  ·  35 members  ·  Free

Travel and Culture

Teaching English in China

ambreaux405

Hey all!

Well 6 months post break up I am finally checking out some of the other boards on this fantastic site!

Now that I am single I was thinking maybe I should go off on an adventure. I have been a high school teacher for almost ten years now and recently started looking into programs for teachers wishing to teach English in China. I have always wanted to visit Asia, and moving there for a year while continuing to work in my field seems like a phenomenal opportunity for me.

I only know of a couple people who have gone to China to teach...one is a friend of mine from university who went and taught English for three years after getting her degree. She had an amazing adventure. The other is an older lady who I used to work with who decided to resign and move to China to teach. I've kept in touch with her and she seems to enjoy it as well. I know there are horror stories out there, as there are with anything, but I am wondering if anyone here has any experience teaching English in China, or anywhere abroad for that matter.

It's something I am getting excited about and definitely going to research further!

I'm currently doing that in Latin America, from what I've been told Asian kids are very respectful of their teachers (not so much here) and you'll be paid enough to travel around with the other foreign teachers and enjoy yourself, also depending on the program the school may even pay for your flight over and accommodation.

All in all, an excellent thing for you to do, go ahead!

The only concern about teaching overseas is handling culture shock. Some people can handle it, some can't. I have known/met people who have taught in Asia (Korea, Japan, Taiwan, and China), the Middle East, and Latin America and had very mixed experiences. Some absolutely loved it, some were incredibly depressed/homesick and broke out of their contracts to come back home.