Open Club  ·  99 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

sun safety advice?

caringcarly

Hi, I've been travelling now for 2 years and I have a constant tan. The thing is I don't want it. I know full well its sun damage and I actually get really annoyed when I'm complimented on it and when all the people back home ask how's my tan coming on. Tanning isn't healthy!

I wear spf 50, sunscreen, long clothes when able. But it's on the days where I'm sight seeing and can't take too many clothes with me that I full on tan.

I respectfully disagree. I'll take a tan via healthy living outdoors over SPF chemicals seeping into my bloodstream any day.

A tan is not damage, it's your skin's way of saying God loves you!

Seriously, skin cancer rates are higher among people who work inside than outside. The supposed links between sun exposure and harm is suspect at best, and of course the studies that appear to link it are typically funded by those who'll profit from spreading that fear.

Actual sunburns are different of course. Drinking too much water will kill you, so all things in moderation.

It sounds like you might need to apply the sun block more often. It needs to be reapplied every time you get wet or sweat, and probably more frequently than stated on the bottle. Make sure the sunblock you buy blocks both UVA & UVB. Maybe you can find a light long sleeved shirt that doesn't take up much space to wear during the peak hours of sun exposure (roughly 10am-2pm). Try to spend as much time in the shade as you can. Wear a hat the provides coverage for at least your face, though a floppy hat that will cover your neck & shoulders a bit would be better. An umbrella would provide protection too, though you might raise a few eyebrows carrying around an open umbrella on a sunny day. That's about it though for reducing sun exposure. You either reduce exposure time or put sunblock on more often.

I agree with you that a deep tan is not good for your skin!