Open Club  ·  110 members  ·  Free

Journals

I Want to Travel

WithLove

Okay, so now that I'm single and unattached, something that I put way in the back of my mind has risen to the forefront again: traveling.

Back when I used to have college etc, I always thought about how cool it'd be to get a job in a different city. Especially if I got a job that let me travel elsewhere too. And after I started a LTR, and knew he had a child, and after fighting for custody for said child, I realized I wouldn't be able to leave to travel quite so easily.

Now I'm alone again, and all of those thoughts are coming back to me. But I've never done serious travel before. How would I even begin to plan a trip, anywhere? Does anyone have suggestions?

What kind of travel? Over seas? On in the States? I would love to be able to travel, to just get in my car and go. First, a road trip sounds really nice, but eventually two places I want to go are Australia and St. Marteen. If I travelled stateside, I'd just get in my car and go. Don't even need to buy a map anymore.

Here is a better question.........

I have thought for a long time that I'd like to go back to where I lived up north with my first ex to visit my friends and his family. I still talk with most of his family every day and my friends up there every day. I miss them all terribly. Visiting them is something I truly want to do. But.... I don't know how my ex will take it. I haven't told his secret (about him meeting other men on Craigslist) to anyone; I haven't even told him that I know. He has contacted me several times in the past few years and has told me more than once that he still loves me and laments the break up. I know it's selfish of me to want to see his family again, but I love them and miss them, and I know my visit would be exciting for all of us... except him.

What do I do? Do I talk to him about this?