Open Club  ·  110 members  ·  Free

Journals

New Journal - Sorting out Life and Self - Challenging My Consumerist Lifestyle

lifesatrip

Hello, I never thought I'd start any kind of public journal, but I have reached a point where private journaling often makes me feel isolated and brooding. The idea of having readers who might offer tidbits of support now and then is appealing. I will hopefully keep enough real details out to protect my identity in the unlikely occurrence that someone from real life might read this.

I am currently studying abroad, about to start an internship tomorrow. I'm living in a foreign city where I know no one except my new host family. It should be interesting. My primary stress now, as in my life back home, is crippling shyness which has been more or less suffocating me since I was a teen. (I'm now in early 20s). I spent high school basically mute. College was a little better, made a few aquaintances and one very close friend. But I struggle with extreme social anxiety still. It's really hard especially because I think I'm the type of person that needs a high level of intimate connection and support. I've spent most of my life hating myself. Over the past years I have been trying to grapple with my current reality which at times feels like a waking nightmare. This year has been a little better luckily. I've been in counseling for a while and that combined with attempts to constantly push myself past my edge, combined with this study abroad (escape) opportunity seems to be slowly but steadily wearing down some of my old thought patterns which have literally kept me in a cruel and unusual imprisonment within my own mind for a LONG time.