For the most part I've been doing alright, it's been close to 8 months since we split, and 5 months of no contact. I wouldn't say I'm in pain anymore, but I'm not entirely happy yet either. Like I feel alright and I have a decent time but I'm not happy entirely like I was when I was with my ex. I guess I miss how happy I was with him. Sometimes I wish I could be friends with him again or something.

Maybe it's just because I haven't found someone else I can be as happy with or what? I know he wasn't great for me and maybe this is me idealizing him in some way. I don't know, I just wonder what it is about me that keeps me so hooked to him even though I know I can do better and he's not all that great. I feel stuck. I just woke up in a real weird place today.

It's been close to 8 months for me, too! Not much no-contact, sadly... mostly because I'm dumb.

I still have painful days, but the pain is largely associated with what you're describing - he wasn't that great, I'm glad it's over, but I miss the good times we shared. Still mourning that loss, I suppose. Definitely finding myself in a funk too and mad at myself for it... but I'll move on.

I guess there was nothing special about him except that he was fun and cute(at least I can say that now, no rose colored glasses), but I've dated fun and cute before. But from the start, I was hooker to him..bad. And sill feel like I am, almost like I'm stuck. I just wonder why? Like what deep emotional childhood wound am I harboring that keeps me into him and why I can't like anyone else like that again?

It's been close to 8 months for me, too! Not much no-contact, sadly... mostly because I'm dumb.

I still have painful days, but the pain is largely associated with what you're describing - he wasn't that great, I'm glad it's over, but I miss the good times we shared. Still mourning that loss, I suppose. Definitely finding myself in a funk too and mad at myself for it... but I'll move on.