Dilemma with balancing school and work

Snow2tears

So I work at a shoppers pharmacy and I'm in grade 12. I'm a pharmacy assistant and I'm more of a back up/substitute where they call me when they need someone. I found that perfectly find because I've been focusing on school! I'm a part time student so I only have chemistry and advanced functions to focus on. Granted they are very challenging and I'm using my 2 spares and extra time wisely. For example always making notes and such.

Today my boss texted me asking if I could work Thursdays regularly 5-9. But the thing is, is that I have after school band every Thursday until 4:30! School ends at 2:30 for me and band starts at 2:40 so I have no time to eat or do homework before hand or after even if I wanted to.

I don't know if I should take the regular shifts or continue to take random shifts every once inawhile. But I always feel obligated to take shifts he gives to me last minute ( like the day of).

I don't know if I should include this, but last year I worked every Wednesday and I remember always being stressed balancing work and school even though it's only once a week with the occasional extra shift. My work habits have changed significantly and this time I only have 2 courses opposed to 4 last year.

I don't know when I would even be able to eat, and if I could handle the work load. I should be focusing on school shouldn't i....please help!!!!!!!

You are young and in high school. This phase of your life only comes and goes once in your lifetime. Enjoy it to the fullest because once you graduate there is no going back.

In addition, the pharmacy job sounds good but you will have the rest of your life to work. The latter is mandatory for most of his on this planet. So why rush into a job?

Either way, it sounds like a good problem to have on this board.

Good luck with your studies.

It is totally ok to decline, if you feel like working Thursdays would be too much.