Open Club  ·  110 members  ·  Free

Journals

New Grad Nurse in a Small City

greywolf

I decided to make a new journal since there have been a lot of changes in my life (and not because I was too lazy to find the old one).

I graduated nursing school last year, and I couldn't find a hospital job. I finally found one here in Florida, so I moved to the other side of the country and started last week. I got hired on a stepdown unit, which is pretty much my dream new grad job (I eventually hope to be a critical care nurse). I start tomorrow on the unit, and I'm really nervous. I feel like I don't know anything. I just know that I'm going to get onto the floor and I'll do something stupid and people will think, "She's an RN???" And it's been over a year since I graduated so things aren't fresh anymore.

Anyway, so I thought a new journal would be nice so I could talk about my experiences here. Also, I feel that I should make a little "disclaimer" first. I'm ok with this area, and I love the hospital that I'll be working at, so if I make complaints or start ranting about things, it's not because I hate it here. I'm just not used to the way things are here yet, and sometimes it bothers me.

Having said that, let me get to my first rant: The drivers.

Life in the Slow Lane??

I just don't understand it. Everyone here is super polite and friendly, until they get into their cars, and something just changes inside their brains. Suddenly they have somewhere they need to be right now. You'd think I'd be used to rude people that drive too fast. I'm from Los Angeles!