Marriage + Kids + Long Distance = Dead Friendship?

Double J

My closest friend -- whom I selected to be the best man at my wedding next year -- and I met close to 10 years ago in our first semester of college.

The first two years of the friendship were truly its golden years. Once we got into relationships, began working full time, and found ourselves at different colleges -- I graduated from the two-year college at which we met a year or so before he did -- we grew apart and seemed to correspond more frequently via phone and MSN Messenger.

From then on, the friendship has had an "ebb and flow" to it. In 2008, his wife emigrated to the U.S. from Nicaragua, and they had their daughter the following year.

From 2011 through the better part of 2012, we grew close once again -- almost as close as we'd been the first two years of the friendship. Unfortunately, if I had to describe our friendship over the last 8 or so months, I'd say the word "tumultuous" comes to mind. Up until 2011, my friend and I had mostly been "basketball buddies" and we agreed it'd be nice to take our friendship to a whole new level by going on double dates with our partners (plus his daughter).

The meetings felt rather awkward. My friend, who loves to tell jokes and act silly when I'm alone with him, was a lot more subdued while in the presence of his wife and kid. The fact his wife's first language is Spanish and she hardly speaks English (my fiancee and I speak Spanish but prefer to speak in English) at times made for even more awkwardness when talking to one another.