I'm making some changes

quirky

Last year was a very difficult year for me. I have been governed by a feeling of apathy and futility since my BU and the demise of one of my best friends. I kept going to work but that was mainly it, wasn't doing that much more..bit of meetup here and there and going out with colleagues. I started feeling a bit better after September.

My job is very irregular, I work shift work. Every week I don't know how many hours I have, when is my day off etc. I work in Customer Service and overall I like it but it's not at all challenging particularly since I am not looking to rise up. I yearn to be self employed. So I had a think..what do I really enjoy doing, what am I good at?

-I write songs, I think I am good at it as I studied Music. I am very passionate and it shows in my music. But my songs appeal to a minority, they're definitely different so not something I can make money from. (I will always do it though)

-I love dresses and clothes and I am good at styling other people. I was thinking of starting an online shop. After further research and consideration I realised that I would be a business woman if I was to do that, it's not creative and it has nothing to do with feelings.

-I have a genuine interest in human behaviour and feelings and an empathetic and analytical nature. I volunteer and help others when I can. I was told by friends, colleagues and family that I should explore this.

So I am !

In the last week I have cut down masssively on my job, doing 10-15 hrs a week so I can get unemployment benefits. I started a Social Psychology short course for 11 weeks, once a week. In late February I will also do a short 4 month course in Counselling Skills, introductory level. After that I can see if I like it and where I want to go with it. Because I am now on unemployment benefits I can very likely do the Counselling course for free, otherwise it was £500 !