Question About No Contact

shackazu

So, I think I screwed up.

I didn't really do no contact with my ex after she broke up with me - we aren't in the same place geographically at the moment, and we have had low contact I guess, her initiating some of the time, me initiating (and her always responding) some of the time. The thing is, I am visiting her for a week in January at her home. She told me during the breakup that she still wanted me to come.

What I wish I had done is told her that I needed some time for myself, and that I would consider the invitation, and wished her a good semester (she is a senior in college, I graduated last year), and then gone straight up no contact for the next three months, until like late November or so, and then re-initiated contact. I really think she still has strong feelings for me, but is just very confused with everything going on in her life right now (backstory on my other thread about "seeing ex in her city in january").

So while that other thread is me asking for advice about January, this one is me asking for advice about now--it would be strange to go no contact right now when I am already scheduled to visit and she knows the date of my arrival and everything, right? Like what would I do, go no contact until mid-december and then contact her again and say, "hey guess what, I'm back and I'll be at your house in three weeks!"? That just seems strange.

Go no contact, starting today. And cancel that trip. That's just setting yourself up for some ridiculous pain to go visit an ex for a week after a breakup.

This experience should have shown you that trying to keep things friendly with an ex after a breakup does nothing to improve your chances for reconciliation OR help you move on and get over a relationship. There's no progress here, for you, only limbo -- and you've done nothing to re-ignite her feelings for you.

Just my opinion!