Man I love got another girl pregnant

This is my first time posting on here but I really need some advice. I just found out 4 days ago that my ex got a girl pregnant. We have been broken up for a few months but have remained friends and in contact. We were together for 2 1/2 years, lived together, got a dog together, talked about marriage and starting a family together. I never wanted our relationship to end in the first place but at the time my ex lost his job and flunked out of his last year of college and said he felt so lost and he didn't want to drag me down. I told him that none of that mattered to me and that I would support him and we would get through it together, but he still moved out. Now a few days ago he calls me and tells me he made the biggest mistake of his life and got another girl pregnant, he was drunk and they only slept together once but she is going to keep the baby. I was, and still am in shock about all of this. I'm mostly heartbroken because I still am in love with this man and he is still in love with me, and now the future that we talked about always having seems so impossible now. I've talked to him every day since he told me this news and he is really torn as to what he should do. He thinks he has to do the "right thing" and try and make things work with this other girl, but that's not really what he want to do. He says "he has never felt love towards someone like he does me, and wishes it was me having his child, and that having all this happen made him realize he never should of left me. I told him that I would stand by his side through all this and that we could work this out in-spite of what has happened, and that I would give him time and space to figure this all out. My heart is telling me I shouldn't give up on this guy, but my head is telling me walk away. Am I crazy to want this relationship to work? And would it be wrong if he chooses to have a relationship with me? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, my heart is broken.