Sent Her an Email Yesterday, After One Year NC

Yup - I sent her an email - not a sappy, sad email, but basically something to clear the air. Yes, it had emotion in it (she was my fiance - it was unavoidable), but it was not in the least bit a pity party. I have been traveling overseas for the last two months, and the idea of reaching out and trying to settle things (we never spoke after the split) has been on my mind. But, a situation arose that made me decide to reach out.

In the last couple of weeks, I have talking someone through a breakup - someone who is on the opposite side of a situation much like my ex and I's. She is breaking up with someone whom she cares for very deeply, but cannot be with anymore; she knows she has to move on, but she just does not know how to do it without harming him. So, seeing as I went through the hell of losing someone who did not know how to show empathy and compassion, but had to get away nonetheless for their own reasons, I have been showing her how to be compassionate over something painful yet necessary. It has helped me understand the psychology of a female doing something as hard as saying goodbye to a huge part of their life, and helped me kind of turn the page in my own story. Though its been a year since we have spoken, I still think and try to figure out exactly what happened between us, since I never really got closure. Talking with her and counseling her on ways to be decent to someone going through hell has helped me to figure out what exactly I did wrong in my relationship, and why she did what she did. Though I in no way agree with her method (essentially saying "I dont love you anymore" and cutting me out of her life), I can understand what led her to that point.