He broke my heart last night. He asked for a break three weeks ago, after he revealed that he had been having doubts about us (not unusual for him). I started crying, but I was trying not to. He's a commitment-phobe, but he was trying to work it out with me. He's been under a terrible financial stress and hates seeing me cry. After that night he said he didn't think he could make me happy when he was under so much stress himself. He wanted a break until his life was back together. Since finding a job in his field is so difficult, I asked how long it would take.

I had been trying to cooperate in the break, but I didn't know how to behave. I was upset and the break was very hurtful. I let him know this but also that I would still be there and wait. two nights ago I had gotten annoyed at him for not editing my essay earlier (I'm a masters student and he's an English major. He agreed to do it, though I had given him an option not to). I was stressed and I took it out on him. The next day he called to break up with me. He said the break wasn't fair to me and that it was hurting me. He said he cared about me and loved me, but not as more than a friend.

He drove an hour to meet me by my house because I wanted to give him back his stuff. I gave him back everything he ever gave me and his Christmas present. I refused to take his present for me. Then he left. We didn't talk except for him trying to force me to take my present.

I called him while drunk, he ignored it. I then texted while drunk how being ignored was very rude. Today I texted him asking if we could meet on Wednesday because I'll be in his area and I need answers and closure. He said he would answer everything via email but that meeting in person would not be good for either of us. I told him he owes me that much and I need closure in order to forget him and move on.

But I don't want to move on. I love this man.

What do I do? Did I already screw it up by drunk texting and asking to meet?