This is my first time on this site. First of all, I would like to introduce myself and thank everyone who makes this site a good supportive community. I have been browsing for a little while tonight, and it seems like there are a lot of good people on here, focused on honestly dealing with the difficult emotions of life.

My ex-gf and I would have been together for about 3 years now, we lived together for a little over a year. We were best friends for about a year before that. About 1 year into the relationship, I was a senior at college and living on campus, she had graduated and was living at home at the time. I wasn't doing well personally, and our relationship was having problems. One night, I was extremely drunk and I took some pills someone gave me, I believe it was xanax or something or the sort. This put me in a state of losing control, and I cheated on my girlfriend that night.

The next day she called me I was unresponsive and cold. I could not believe or accept what I had done. Strangely, without knowing of what happened she broke up with me that day. After a few days of begging, pleading, and long days of panic and hopelessness, I finally made some effort towards moving on. Soon after, she contacted me and we ended up getting back together. I did not tell her about the cheating.

Our relationship improved after that. After being a slacker for most of my life, and barely making it through college, I really turned things around. I took extra classes to graduate early, got some decent grades, and was focused on getting a good job after college. E (my ex), had always planned on going abroad after college, its something she wanted to do for a long time. I couldn't really go/didn't want to, somehow I convinced her to stay in the US to be with me. Shortly after graduation, I got a good job in the city she was working in, and moved into her place. A couple months later, we signed a lease together, and got a place that was ours.