Want a job as a Career/Academic Advisor. How do I gain experience?

Double J

I'm interested in leaving the corporate world and finding a more fulfilling line of work-- something that will leave me feeling as if I'm making a difference at the end of the day.

I graduated summa cum laude and have always had a passion for academics. I'd like to return to the academic world in the capacity of academic advisor (or something along those lines).

However, seeing as how most jobs require experience in an academic setting, I feel like the odds are stacked up against me. When applying for these positions, is it wise to put a spin on your corporate experience ("worked in a customer service environment," "advised customers") so as to help you land the jobs?

What else can I do to help get my foot in the door? I've noticed that universities/colleges are very picky as far as desired qualifications in job candidates. I figure emphasizing my academic qualifications can only take me so far.

Thanks in advance.

I am an academic adviser at the major university in my area.

I think the first question that needs to be asked is: