Why do these things happen to people?

I graduated in December 2007 and, up until that point, I had never worked on a full-time basis. I was excited about finally going out into the world and searching for a great job.

Long story short, I spent about 7 months carefully searching before I found a job (in June) that was a good fit. Before accepting that offer, I had other opportunities I could have opted for -- about 5 other offers at different times over that 7 month span -- but chose not to accept them for a variety of reasons (extensive travel, tyrant bosses, etc.) I did accept one position before the one I just mentioned, but I ended up leaving it because it didn't turn out as expected (they hadn't been upfront about the responsibilities, etc.)

The job I accepted in June went well. I thought I was slightly underpaid, but I let that pass. I got along well with my co-workers and enjoyed the work very much. Unfortunately, the economic downturn hit the company hard, and I ended up being laid off only 5 months into the job. It was very unfortunate because I thought I had found a home at this company.