How do you know if teaching is for you?

Lately I've been pondering whether I'd like to become a teacher someday, but I'm not sure if I want to enter the field for the right reasons.

Long vacations, 8-3 workdays, and the prospect of revisiting the theoretical side of things are the drivers behind all of this.

I studied Marketing, but I've realized that marketing in the real world isn't the same as reading content out of a textbook. I was a dedicated, straight "A" student my entire life, and I think I miss the academic world.

What do I dislike about corporate America? The deadlines, the bureaucracy, the long hours. Most marketing jobs involve tasks I have the least bit interest in, such as event planning.

I love writing, which is why I've leaned towards the marketing communications domain. Very seldomly, however, do marketing jobs involve only writing.

Becoming a college professor has crossed my mind. Flexible schedules, teaching to dedicated adults as opposed to unruly kids, being able to publish research -- these are all benefits to landing this type of job.

What is it that turns me away from teaching?

I'm normally a pretty reserved guy (think introspective writer type), so the thought of having to stand up in front of a group of students for 2 hours is daunting, more so when talking about middle and high school kids.

I've heard that getting a Ph.D. is time consuming and expensive; plus, you have to be willing to relocate, which is something I'm not willing to do.

Therefore, going the high school route might seem more reasonable, but again, the thought of having to engage kids and put up with their antics is unsettling.

Life is short, so I'm definitely exploring my options.