We have been broken up for a year after being together for 4 years. The past two years have been long distance so he lives in a completely different State than I do. I did NC on and off and just recently broke it after two months and we started talking again. He has never ignored my calls or treated me badly, he just moved on really fast and I was left behind trying to pick up all the pieces.

Now that we're talking again it's all fine except for the fact that he is doing reallllly well. I know that sounds bad and of course I am happy for him. The thing is he is traveling all over the world even going to Brazil later this month. (which is where I am from and we spent a great vacation together a couple years ago). He is doing exceptionally well financially and of course surrounded by gorgeous girls. My life is pretty crappy right now. I'm in my last semesters of school, struggling financially, a little out of shape, my car just got totalled by some girl who ran a stop-sign, unemployed.... etc. I have reached the point where I realize that no matter how much I heal he will ALWAYS have a special place in my heart and a part of me will always wonder why we couldn;t have stayed and worked it out. He was my first true love and I spent the ages of 19-23 with him by my side as a team.

Since he is so busy with work and travel and vacations all over the world he is pretty bad at calling me back or even making an effort to call me. I no longer feel sad or angry but I'm just tired of it all. Obviously he was my best friend for years and knew everything about me but now I feel like we're merely acquaintances trying to hold on to something that isn't there. Sometimes I even feel the need to kind of embellish my own life so that he doesn't think I'm a complete loser you know? It gets exhausting.