do employers frown upon unpaid work/experience?

In June of last year I took a paid part-time position while still a full-time student in college. A month later, I decided to tack on more experience to my resume by taking an unpaid job. Thus, I was studying and managing two jobs simultaneously.

I graduated in December, and in February of this year I decided to drop the paid position and focus only on the unpaid one, as I saw it as the one that provided better experience (I wasn't desperate for the money, anyway). It was also when I started searching for full-time jobs so I wanted to focus only on one.

Is this, in any way, a turn-off to an employer? At least I'm being honest and genuine about my intentions. Do they really care if it's paid or not, as long as it's experience?

The reason why I ask is because I had to fill out a job history application during an interview I had yesterday. They told me to be dead honest about everything, and so I was. I didn't want to lie about salary and later get caught. On top of that, I originally went in for an interview at this very company a few months ago and I was upfront about one of the jobs being unpaid. I didn't want to say otherwise for this second position and get in trouble. That first position ended up closing due to company restructuring.

I've had 3 previous jobs in total, and the most recent one (the unpaid one) is the one least pertinent to this position, which makes me think they won't even care that it was unpaid. The other two - which relate more to this position - were indeed paid.

Any guidance would be helpful. Thanks.

Well, I think it depends on the type of experience you had and what it offers to the position you are applying. If its directly related, and you spent a certain amount of time in that field, the fact that you put in time and effort for NOTHING..I think speaks well.