Quit first full-time job after 4 days

Double J

I knew that pursuing a job in an industry that was totally unrelated to my field of study would be a risky venture. I also knew that pursuing a job solely on the basis of advertised pay would probably be unwise.

I graduated from college in December with a Bachelor's degree in Marketing. I commenced my job search in December and really broadened my options by looking in all kinds of industries - finance, non-profit, etc. My main goal was to find something marketing-oriented that involved writing since that is what I enjoy doing the most.

I've gone to more interviews than I can count with my fingers. From late November until the present, I've received a total of 4 offers. The first offer I got just seemed to come at the wrong time. It was related to my field somewhat, but I deemed the starting salary to be a bit low and decided against jumping at the first offer that came my way. Besides, I was getting calls from various places and felt I was in a good spot to test out the market.

The second offer was a good one as well. Before signing the offer, I decided to ask if any travel was required. It turns out that they wanted me to be traveling every 6 weeks and neglected to mention this during THREE interviews I had with them. I thought it was inconsiderate of them and chose to pass on this offer as well. The salary was higher than the first offer but only by 1k; the excessive travel wasn't justified, especially for someone entry-level like myself.

The other two offers came within the past two weeks. The first offer was extended by a company my sister happened to work for several years ago. She cautioned me against working there because the head hancho is known to be toxic and overbearing. The turnover rate at the company has historically been high.