To Negotiate or Not To Negotiate?

Double J

A little over a month ago, I received my first full-time job offer. (I graduated from college recently.) I felt the pay was too little, thus it didn't work out in the end.

For the past few weeks, I've gone to several different interviews for different jobs. As of late, three really good ones have popped up for good companies, all of which have expressed interest in me.

One of those called me today to extend an offer. They said they'd formally send me the paperwork on Monday since one of the managers whose signature was required didn't go to work today. The young woman did tell me over the phone what the salary would be.

As it turns out, it's 1K higher than the first job I turned down (still don't know about the benefits yet), and it's even closer to my house. I had three interviews for this company (2 in-person, one over the phone) and I really enjoyed the company atmosphere there; the employees seem really nice as well. All in all, the job seems much more exciting than the first offer that was extended.

If a company formally writes down an offer on paper, does that mean they're not open to negotiation? I'm not sure if I should ask to see if I could get 1 or 2K more. I don't want to blow my chances since it's an excellent opportunity. I'm also entry-level, and the offer is fair given my limited experience. The job market is so weak right now that many of us starting out can't afford to get too picky.

Any tips/suggestions welcome. Thanks guys.

Most of the time if it is written in paper it is pretty much set in stone. That is what the company is willing to pay for the entry level position. If it is a job that you really want feel that you would excel at, I probably wouldn't try to negotiate for 1 or 2k more. It probably isn't worth it.

Hi there....

CONGRATULATIONS!! ON YOUR GRADUATION....AND ON THE NEW JOB...!!