Have you ever felt like you cannot live up to the career you've chosen? For example, I am a professor at a university, but I can't do research very well... and I've had one published paper in 5 years. Isn't that suppose to tell me something?!?!? Am I just denying something? Avoiding the obviuous? Well... its been hurting my relationship with my fiance because I've been worried so much about my losing my job next year (I am up for tenure and renewal of my contract next year)? I worry about it constantly... and I have neglected our relationship and her needs because of it. Even as I'm typing this now, I am at work?

Any suggestions?

I think it might be a common fear. I have been in my chosen profession for 10 years and still have cold sweats some times that I am a fraud. Oddly I get very good bonuses and kept near the top of my reviews...

I really think it might just be a fear that some people, especially perfectionist, have

This is a good question. I am also a professor at a University. I started 2 months ago.

I had a very bad experience while getting my degree. I had a bad mentor. The thresholds for quality of the work of others on the project I was working on kept changing (being lowered). This resulted in bad work being done overall and work that was of no use to me, even though it was supposed to be a collaborative effort. I received no benefit at all, but spent many, many hours on the work. In fact, my work was the only stuff to be published. But a lot more could have if there had been good mentoring. My mentor didn't care.

This experience affected me quite a bit. I let it affect me is a more appropriate way to say it. I had a picture of how things were supposed to be, and when that did not happen it really got under my skin. I simply could not deal with it appropriately. I became very stressed and anxious and this affected all aspects of my life.