Would like some advice

steve_p

Hey everyone! I'm a long time reader, first time poster, and thought I'd finally break my silence and ask for some advice.

I don't really want to go into much deatail over my situation, as I'll just end up writing a paragraph thats muddled and rife with countless questions, so I'll keep it fairly brief...

I guess I slot neatly into the painfully shy catagy; just turned 17, have a fair amount of friends, but none of which are very close and none of which are girls. Needless to say I've never had a girlfriend, although I am planning to ask a particular girl out within the next few weeks (though I've never done this before, so I'm going to have to make sure I don't chicken out!)

I've liked this particular girl for around 2 years now; we were both on a school trip abroad, along with around another 25 people, and she began showing an interest in getting to know me, which is pretty rare for me seeing as I never approach anyone! I fell for her pretty much straight away, though of coarse I'd always be too awkward to maintain a conversation longer than a few lines with her.

She seemed to loose interest in sparking a friendship for a while after that trip, presumably due to my lack of responce. She would still occasionally talk to me, but again we never got past a few lines. However, around March last year I finally decided that I had to do something about my social awkwardness, and thus began to search the internet (where else?) for some advice - hence coming accross this site.