Would like some tips.....

Dark Prince

Hey all, noob here.

Anyway, I've been reading around the boards and found some very interesting topics and tips that I picked up on; and I want to start to improve my social skills. My only problem is that I can't start conversations with people I've never met before. For example,

For the past few semesters through all the classes I've been in, I've always been quiet and never really said anything to anyone unless I'm speaking to the professor or when we're in groups. I keep trying to get myself to turn and say something but I seem to have to have nothing to say. And, I always get nervous and stay quiet. I hate it. I feel like I'm going to go through college without making any new friends apart from the small group of friends I have now. I have a chance this fall semester, and right now I'm taking a summer class; which is just turning out to be like all the other semesters. Boring and conversationless on my part.

Anything I can do to change this or something?

The one thing you don't want to do is try too hard. Don't start a conversation saying something really random unless it is appropriate timing.

Instead try to find something in the classroom or maybe something the professor says and ask the person next to you what they think about it. Maybe if you have a question turn to the person next to you and say, "Hey there, I'm having trouble on problem X. Do you have any idea what to do?" just keep it simple and the conversation may start to flow.

How do we solve our fears? We tackle them head on!

If you're scared of sky diving and want to beat that fear, you don't read a book about the theory and history of sky diving, you take a sky dive. Your problem is no different.

It can only come with time. The world is a stage and people in shopping malls, supermarkets, trains, planes and buses are your audience. All you have to do is talk to them.