Question to those who work in writing as a profession

Hello everyone,

This question goes out to those who have taken on writing careers. I'm talking about authors, columnists, journalists, public relations professionals, and the like.

I'm majoring in Marketing and plan to graduate at the end of this year. For several months now, I've considered getting into market research (where I would work heavily with statistics) since the demand for these jobs is fairly decent. However, I've been having second thoughts as of late.

I've realized that my true calling in life is not working with numbers, although I work considerably well with statistics, computations, etc. Ever since I was little, I always dreamed of becoming a writer. I feel that writing is my true talent (always praised by teachers throughout middle school and high school for my writing abilities). I've always been a perfectionist with my writing as well (I seem to be the only one among my peer group who cares about inpeccable grammar). Throughout my whole life, I've made it a habit to look up the definitions to words I'm not familiar with.

I would have jumped straight into English or Public Relations after graduating from high school, but my father wanted me to pursue Accounting. I was good at Accounting but eventually grew tired of it and changed my major (no passion for it whatsoever). I didn't want to start over from scratch so I stayed within the business curriculum and selected Marketing as my new major. I've enjoyed studying subjects like consumer behavior very much.

I'm always reading the latest news in the world of business from sources like the Wall Street Journal, BrandWeek, Advertising Age, etc. I've come to the conclusion, however, that just because I enjoy reading about research on the topic does not mean that I would enjoy conducting the research myself. I'm taking a class in Market Research right now and it seems way too numbers-oriented for me.